traction on ice

ice-grippers_2010-cropped

A few days ago I wrote about walking on ice at Fort Anne.  The ice is still here and an excellent reason to try out a new piece of  footwear.  – At least I think it qualifies as foot wear,  those pieces of gear called on the label “all purpose traction aids” for ice and snow.  Essentially these contraptions are like rubber slippers with cleats.  They are intended to fit over your regular shoes/boots and should help you keep your footing on ice and snow.

I tried mine out tonight. Two aspects of these fancy ice-grippers are critical:  Do they work?  and how easy or difficult are they to put on?  For the first question –  they do work.  I found my very slippery driveway easy to negotiate.  But for the second question: ease of use – well it depends…I was able to get them on over two different pairs of boots (light boots), but it was a struggle.  The rubber has to be stretched and pulled to fit over the shoe or boot.  And, it has to be at least mostly even so the cleats are on the bottom.  So, the vision that I had of carrying these things and using them as needsed for a particularly treacherous walk…hmm.  I can’t see it.

(On further checking, it seems that the pair I have, a gift, were purchased for shoe sizes 5-7 and generally my shoes are in the 7-8 range.  Perhaps a larger pair would be easier to put on.) Would I recommend these ice-grippers?  Yes, especially for those who find icy conditions very difficult to negotiate or who are discouraged from walking by ice sidewalks.

The ice-grippers in action:

ice-grippers-in-action_1999-cropped

Leave a Reply

